Searching For Sky review

My rating:⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Page count:288
!!!!!!!!!!!!!MAJOR SPOILERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Summary from Goodreads:

Sky and River have always lived on Island, the only world they’ve ever known. Until the day River spots a boat. Across Ocean, in a place called California, Sky is separated from River and forced to live with a grandmother she’s just met. Here the rules for survival are different. People rely on strange things like cars and cell phones. They keep secrets from one another. And without River, nothing makes sense. Sky yearns for her old life where she was strong and capable, not lost and confused. She must find River so they can return to Island, but the truth behind how they ended up there in the first place will come as the biggest shock of all.

Plot:

From the get go, I was in love with this storyline. I could not get enough of this plot! In the beginning, there was only two character, which saved me from insufferable fights. Sadly, they soon leave the island. After they were both released from the hospital, River avoids Sky. I later found out it was Sky’s grandma that paid River to stay away from Sky. The worst part is, River actually thought it was for the best. I had to go through the torture of waiting for them to reunite for half the book!
I cannot even begin to express the anger and sadness I felt when River died. Honestly, my brain is still processing his death, and I will never truly accept it. It was so sudden, and I applaud Jillian Cantor on her plot twist of the year. I even took pictures of myself crying, with mascara EVERYWHERE! The only reassurance I have from his death is the fact that she still has Ben by her side.

Characters:

I really liked Ben, but I couldn’t fully accept him until River died. He was always there for Sky, and I sometimes even preferred him over River.

Jillian Cantor does an amazing job of describing the world through Sky’s perspective. You could even say Sky’s an unreliable narrator, and Jillian does a wonderful job portraying that. She even refers to cars as “black caves”, along with so much more silly references.

Overall & Recommendations:

This was definitely my tearjerker of the month, and I LOVED IT TO PIECES! I’ve already gotten one of my reader friends to give it a go, and they loved it. I would recommend it to every single teenage girl out there. But, please don’t mistake this for a fluffy romance. It has SO much more than that. It’s actually a very deep book, with a lot about discovering yourself in a terrifying new world.

One thought on “Searching For Sky review

Leave a Reply

