Harry Potter and The Cursed Child review

My rating:⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Page count:343

Summary:

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

Plot:

At first, I was kind of annoyed with the unoriginal plot, but it immediately picked up. It was a bit predictable, but I was not expected for some of the things that happened. Well, actually now that I’ve thought it over, the plot was a bit annoying. Every single Harry Potter plot had a purpose: Harry killing Voldemort, saving Ginny, saving Sirius, ect. Instead, this book just had dumb old Albus who had no connection or relation to Cedric at all, want to revive him out of the blue. I JUST DONT GET IT. If you think about it, this isn’t really a good plot at all. However, the overall nastalgia of this book, made it so much more enjoyable.

img_1266-1

Writing:

I went into this book thinking I would hate the script format, but I ended up not minding it at all. That way I wasn’t bogged down in descriptions, and it was all dialogue. If this was made into a novel, I would definitely read it.

Characters:

I found it kinda weird to see Harry, Hermione, and Ron as adults. I feel like there were those small moments where they were children again, but they mostly acted like adults. I didn’t really favor Albus at all. He was soooo rude to his dad. I felt so bad for Harry. Towards the end I warmed up to him. The more I think about it, the more unrealistic these characters seem. In reality, Harry would NEVER let anything get in the way of his relationship with his son.

Overall & recommendations:

At first, I was reluctant to read this, due to mixed reviews. I had my problems with it, but it was still enjoyable. I think if you like Harry Potter, you should give this a try. It was a enjoyable read, and I will MAKE my friends read this.

img_1265-1

Leave a Reply

