Angel On the Square review

My rating:⭐️⭐️⭐️

Page count:304

Summary from Goodreads:

In the fall of 1914, safe behind palace walls, Katya Ivanova sees St. Petersburg as a magical place.The daughter of a lady-in-waiting to the Empress, Katya spends all her time with the Grand Duchesses; the royal family feels like her own. But outside the palace, a terrible war is sweeping through Europe, and Russia is beginning to crumble under the weight of a growing revolution. Now, as Katya’s once-certain future begins to dissolve, she must seek to understand what is happening to her beloved country and, for the first time in her life, take charge of her own destiny. 

Plot:

Honestly, the overall plot was fairly boring. I found myself skimming at many parts. I do, however, like all the information on the Romanov family. This is my first book that I’ve read about them, and it was mildly interesting. Obviously not interesting enough to keep me from skimming. There’s really not much to say about this plot, besides the fact that it really didn’t keep my attention. The ending was predictable, and even thought this book was boring, it was still sorta fun. That’s why I rated it 3/5 stars. 

Characters:

The characters didn’t really have any depth to them, given that this is a children’s book. I just don’t even know what to say. I guess it was pretty interesting to read about Anastasia (I LOVE THE MOVIE), and it was fascinating to see how the family functioned. It was also really cool to read about Rasputin, and his creepy manor. 

Overall & Recommendations:

I could’ve done without this book, even though it was mildly fun. The characters were dull, but it was interesting to read about the Romanov family. I can’t say I recommend this book to middle graders. I do think it would be a fun read for children, though. 

Quotes I liked:

“It is hard to give up what you know for what you don’t know.”

“I thought I understood what was best. I knew too little and believed too soon.”

Leave a Reply

