What Light review

My rating:⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️Page count:256

Summary From Goodreads:

Sierra’s family runs a Christmas tree farm in Oregon—it’s a bucolic setting for a girl to grow up in, except that every year, they pack up and move to California to set up their Christmas tree lot for the season. So Sierra lives two lives: her life in Oregon and her life at Christmas. And leaving one always means missing the other. 

Until this particular Christmas, when Sierra meets Caleb, and one life eclipses the other.

By reputation, Caleb is not your perfect guy: years ago, he made an enormous mistake and has been paying for it ever since. But Sierra sees beyond Caleb’s past and becomes determined to help him find forgiveness and, maybe, redemption. As disapproval, misconceptions, and suspicions swirl around them, Caleb and Sierra discover the one thing that transcends all else: true love.

Plot:

Boy, do I love this book! But I can see why it has a relatively low rating. It’s predictable, cheesy, cliche. But sometimes that’s just what I need. While reading it, it wasn’t screaming “IM PREDICTABLE!” I only realized it was when I finished it. Since this is a character driven book, I can’t say much about the plot, except for how much I loved it! It was obviously good enough for me to stay up till 1 at night just so Could finish the dang book. 

Characters:

EEEEE! I LOVE CALEB! He’s so adorbs. Might I dare mention his dimples? Holy cow. Who does that remind you of? SAM CLAFLIN! I hope this is made into a movie just so Sam can play Caleb. Anyways, I really liked Sierra. I didn’t love her, but I really liked her. She seemed like she was always want to fix things, but she always had good intentions. Even whe she said all the wrong things, Caleb always pushed them aside, and loved her all the same. 

Overall & Recommendations:

I really loved this book. It really put me in the middle for a good Hallmark romance. Which I watch year round anyway. And did I mention how short of a read it was. 250 pages! It always makes my life (and my Goodreads challenge) easier when I come across short books. Also, THAT COVER THO. Perfect for teen girls who want a fun, quick romance around the holidays. 

Quoted I Loved:

“Sierra, it’s Christmastime. Put a stupid mistletoe over his head and kiss him already!”

“It’s your heart. No one else gets a say in that.”

“I don’t know how to fully enjoy any of these moments without wondering if it’s the last.” 

“People think what they want. That’s what I’ve had to accept,” he says. “I can fight it, but that’s exhausting. I can feel hurt about it, but that’s torture. Or I can decide it’s their loss.”


Leave a Reply

