Hollow City review

My rating:⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️Page count:400

Summary:

Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

Plot:

As you may know, I though the first book was okay, so I had low expectations going into this one. From the start, it held onto me, and never let go. I was wanting more of the story every time I put it down. I think part of it was not having to deal with Jacob’s insufferable family, and he already knows about Peculiardom, so no info-dumps. It was extremely fascinating seeing the expanded world of Peculiardom, especially when they found the animals. Also, I love how the book started RIGHT where he first one left off. So that helped in terms of memory. And those photographs are so cool! It’s crazy how accurate they are to his descriptions. 

Ransom Riggs’ writing style is SO GOOD. And I’m not just saying that, it’s true. He writes such detailed descriptions, but at the same time you don’t want to skim anything for fear of skipping something important. I also really like how this isn’t the “chosen one” trope, because every single character matters, and if one was gone, they would be in grave danger. Is it just me or was this book like not scary at all? I know it’s supposed to be super creepy and horrific, but I guess I’m just not sacred easily. (Not a complaint, just an observation). This action-packed sequel was definitely worthy of the hype. 

Characters:

To be honest, I liked Bronwyn better than Jacob and Emma. It was super weird how I felt like the other characters had more depth and personality than the main characters. Is it just me, or do you find It weird that Jacob and Emma are really far into a relationship after being together a couple of days??? Anywho, I got to see a completely new side to certain characters, and now I’m attached. ❤

Overall & Recommendations:

THE GOOD

•Plot was epic and super original

•Photographs were awesomeness

•FREAKIN peculiar animals

•Most of the characters were lovable and had great personalities

THE NOT SO GOOD

•Jacob and Emma were dull

BOTTOM LINE

Amazing book, and so much better than the first one. 

I recommend this to everyone 13+. 

Memorable Quotes:

“Strange, I thought, how you can be living your dreams and your nightmares at the very same time.” 


“But you can’t feel bad every second, I wanted to tell her. Laughing doesn’t make bad things worse any more than crying makes them better. It doesn’t mean you don’t care, or that you’ve forgotten. It just means you’re human.” 


“What I believe is that when it comes to big things in life, there are no accidents. Everything happens for a reason. You are here for a reason — and it’s not to fail and die.” 


“The real purpose of money is to manipulate others and make them feel lesser than you.”


“I was too dazed to follow right away, because there was something new happening, a wheel inside my heart I’d never noticed before, and it was spinning so fast it made me dizzy. And the farther away she got, the faster it spun, like there was an invisible cord unreeling from it that stretched between us, and if she went too far it would snap – and kill me. I wondered if this strange, sweet pain was love.” 


“Because from the day I met her I’d known I wanted to be part of any world she belonged to. Did that make me crazy? Or was my heart too easily conquered?” 


“You give me strength I didn’t know I had,” I said. “You make me better.”

She blushed. “I don’t know what to say.”

Emma, bright soul. I need your fire—the one inside you.”


“When we first met, I was convinced you were about to cut my throat. But scared as I was, there was this tiny voice in my head saying: If this is the last face you ever see, at least it’s a beautiful one.”
There are many answers to be found within,” he said, “if you only know what to look for.”


“If find this contagion of optimism positively flabbergasting,” said Enoch. “If Miss Wren is in there, then she’s frozen solid.”

Emma erupted at him. “Doom and gloom! Ruin and ruination! I think you’d be happy if the world came to an end tomorror, just so you could say I told you so!”

Enoch blinked at her, surprised, then said very calmly, “You may choose to live in a world of fantasy if you like, my dear, but I am a realist.”
You have a real family , and if you think any of us would’ve chosen this world over those things—wouldn’t have given up our loops and longevity and peculiar powers long ago for even a taste of what you have—then you really are living in a fantasy world. It makes me absolutely ill to think you might throw that all away—and for what?”

“For you, you idiot! I love you!”

Leave a Reply

