Flora’s Wish Review

My rating:⭐️⭐️⭐️.5Page count: 368

3.5

Summary From Goodreads:

May 1887—Flora Brimm is determined the fifth time is the charm. Back home she has a reputation as “Fatal Flora,” a woman whose previous four fiancés died in untimely accidents. Flora is desperate to marry, because producing an heir is the only way she can keep her family’s estate. She’s confident this visit to Eureka Springs with her grandmother will help her land a husband.

Pinkerton detective Lucas McMinn is hot on the trail of Will Tucker, the thief who broke his sister’s heart. When he discovers the slippery fellow with Flora, he thinks they are in on the devious plot together. Will Flora be able to convince Lucas of her innocence? Will Lucas catch the elusive Mr. Tucker?

And, more importantly, will Lucas survive if he pursues Flora’s heart?

Plot:

Even though this is marked as christian, it’s not completely insufferable. Don’t get me wrong, I love reading Christian fiction, but a lot of the characters are so self righteous. And that’s coming from a Christian girl herself. In this book, the Christianity was more subtle, and not so overwhelming. Anyways, I found the beginning to be quite boring, but I powered through and ended up enjoying it. TBH, this book was sooo unrealistic. And I’m not claiming to be a law expert at all, in fact, quite the opposite, but this book was so wrong with all the law charges, and pointless arresting. Hey, I’ve seen my fair share of cop shows. o_o I also felt that Kathleen did a great job transitioning from one POV to another. It was smooth, and perfect timing.

Characters:

The main character, Flora, was a ball of fire! She had an <I>attitude</I>. That’s probably why we’re so relatable. 😉 But at times, she could be….. a bit rude. TBH, I didn’t particularly like any of the characters in this book. Even though I’m glad the Christianity wasn’t overwhelming, they didn’t really feel christian at all. I didn’t really mind, and that’s not the reason I didn’t like the characters. Kathleen just didn’t write them to leave an everlasting impression on me.

Overall & Recommendations:

This was a light, fluffy read. I can’t say I’d specifically recommend to anybody, but it was a good read. Even though I did really like it, I don’t really feel like continuing the series, given it’s different stories every time, but they’re all similar. But If you’re interested, give it a go!

Memorable Quotes:

“She was truly beautiful, though that was not what drew him to want to know more about her. This woman of wealth and privilege had something else about her—and inner beauty—which he couldn’t quite define.”
Flora Brimm was a Pinkerton agent’s worst nightmare, the type of woman who would niggle her way into his thoughts at the oddest moments, work her way into his heart, and all the while irritate him beyond description.”
“Do you love him?”

“No of course not, Grannama. Why on earth would I love Lucas McMinn?”

Another smile, this one much slower to grow into a broad grin. “Oh, dear, it’s much worse than I expected. You’re completely smitten and vexed all the same.”

Ire rose, as did Flora. “Truly, Grandmama, I thought you were on my side ”

“I am, dear. I just find it interesting that when I said him, you assumed I was speaking of Mr. McMinn.” She gave Flora a pointed look. “You’d best get that sorted in your mind before you marry the wrong man.”

Leave a Reply

